I love me some carrot cake.

Carrot cake. Moist, crumbly, cinnamonny goodness with flecks of walnuts and HEAVENLY cream cheese icing. I love me some carrot cake. Especially that cream cheese icing. Come to think of it, I could probably just eat a plate of cream cheese icing, but with carrot cake on the side. Yum.

P1110072

I whipped up this little baby a couple of weeks ago (bit slow on the blogging – sorry!) for when LL and I had visitors. I think they ate maybe one piece each. LL and I ate the rest. Sure, I could’ve taken the cake into work and my co-workers would have demolished it tut sweet (they love a bit of cream cheese icing themselves), but I took the selfish route and cut the cake up into slices and individually wrapped each slice and kept them in the freezer. Of course, there’s no chance of cake going stale before I get my greedy mitts on it, but keeping it in the freezer prevents the occasional *ahem*often*ahem* binge cake eating. Moving along…

Carrot cake with lemon cream cheese frosting

ccake

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs
  • 1⅓ cups (250g) firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 1 cup (250ml) vegetable oil or olive oil
  • 3 cups coarsely grated carrot (about three whole carrots)
  • 1 cup (120g) coarsely chopped walnuts
  • 2½ cups (375g) self-raising flour
  • ½ tsp bicarbonate of soda (baking soda)
  • 2 tsp mixed spice

And for the icing:

  • 40g butter, softened
  • 120g cream cheese, softened
  • zest of 1 lemon, finely chopped
  • 360g icing sugar, sifted

Method

Preheat oven to 180°C (moderate). Grease a 22cm square cake pan and line with baking paper.

Pulse walnuts and grated carrot in food processor until diced but not finely. (It’s IMPERATIVE the walnuts are chopped but still have a chunky texture. )

P1110057 P1110056 P1110058 P1110059
Beat eggs, sugar and oil in bowl with an electric mixer until thick and creamy. Stir in carrot and nuts, then sifted dry ingredients. Pour mixture into pan.

P1110060 P1110062
Bake cake about 1 and a quarter hours. Stand in pan 5 minutes; turn, top-side up, onto a wire rack to cool.

P1110063
Meanwhile, make lemon cream cheese frosting. Beat butter, cream cheese and rind in a small bowl with an electric mixer until light and fluffy; gradually beat in sifted icing sugar. Spread over cooled cake.

P1110069 P1110066

You can see I didn’t chop my lemon zest that finely. No matter! It softens in the icing, but the icing would look much more nice and smooth had I taken the extra step of dicing that grated lemon rind. My bad!

P1110079 P1110081

P1110076P1110073

Feel free to exercise your self-control and not eat this entire cake at once. Or not. No judgment here!

Leave a Reply

