That. dress. And one shameless obsession.

Note to self: I MUST HAVE ANNABEL CRABB’S DRESS SHE WORE ON KITCHEN CABINET TONIGHT.

If you’re not Australian or have a particular penchant for Aussie political journos, let me introduce you to my idol, Annabel Crabb.

1002487_581369308580196_1364288286_n

Image copyright ABC 2013. All rights reserved. Credit: Facebook.

She’s the one in the yellow dress I am on a desperate Google search to find the origin of right now.

Not only is she a widely read (and respected) political journalist, she has a TV show where she gets to bake AND get to talk politics all day AND wear amazing clothes at the same time. It probably doesn’t sound all that exciting to 99% per cent of people, but I tell ya what, that’s my ultimate… except the being on TV part, but I digress. When LL and I were watching her show tonight, he actually cracked up laughing when Annabel interrupted a slightly awkward/tense moment with a … let’s call him an *eccentric* (read: difficult) conservative senator … by saying, “so, shall we have cake?” LL cracked up laughing and said, “This show is SO you.” Damn straight.

ANYWAY, seeing as I don’t have a full-length pic of the dress, you’re just going to have to trust me that it’s awesome and I am going to try my darndest to recreate it.

It’s a jewel neckline, finished with what I’m guessing is a wide piece of plain yellow bias binding. The bodice is sleeveless, and from what I can see has two darts at the waist. It also has a narrow self-covered belt (drool) which helps with pattern matching at the waist seam, and a flared, pleated knee-length skirt, not to mention the enviable vintage vibe. SIGH.

So far I’m thinking I could probably use this Vogue fitting shell (I don’t own it… yet) as my bodice and use a pleated skirt from one of my other vintage dress patterns. God knows I have stacks of vintage dress patterns!

Any sewists out there have any thoughts/suggestions? I’d start my fabric hunt right now but it’s becoming close to stupid o’clock and I don’t want to sleep the morning away tomorrow. I have a finished project to take photos of!

One thought on “That. dress. And one shameless obsession.

  1. Pingback: FINISHED – The I-wish-I-could-afford-Cue dress (V8723) | beagles, baking and dressmaking

Leave a Reply

